Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join
Awards & Recognitions
Share |

John W. Ballou Award

Named for a Bangor lawyer and founding father of the Board of Overseers of the Bar, The John W. Ballou Award honors a Maine resident or native who demonstrates qualities in keeping with the aims and purposes of the bar association and who exemplifies the example set by Ballou. The award is the association's most prestigious.

Ballou Award Recipients

Caroline Duby Glassman Award

Named for the first female justice of the Maine Supreme Judicial Court, the Caroline Duby Glassman Award, recognizes a female member of the bar who has excelled in one or more of the following areas:

  • has worked to remove barriers and advance the position of women in the legal profession or community;
  • has worked to educate the bench, the Bar, or the public on the status of women in the profession; and/or,
  • has acted as a role model for younger or less experience women lawyers.

Glassman Award Recipients

Vincent L. McKusick Award

Named for a former chief justice of the Maine Supreme Judicial Court, the Vincent McKusick Award honors the author of the best article published in the Maine Bar Journal during the preceding year, as judge by the Maine Bar Journal's Editorial Advisory Committee. The winning article is the one that best enhances the understanding of the law of this state, by an author who has best demonstrated the commitment to practice-based legal scholarship as exemplified by Chief Justice McKusick.

McKusick Award Recipients

Sustaining Members

The Sustaining Membership category permits MSBA members to make additional financial contributions to the Maine State Bar Association. These contributions help the MSBA maintain affordable dues, fund capital expenditures, and develop and implement programs to provide additional member benefits. As established by the MSBA's Board of Governors, an individual Sustaining Membership is $100.00 in addition to a member's regular dues.

Sustaining Members

Life Members

The Maine State Bar Association annually recognizes attorneys whose 50 years of "faithful and meritorious service to the Bar have contributed substantially to the honor and dignity of the profession." In 2020, the MSBA bestowed life member status upon the following 19 attorneys:

Charles S. Andrews    Hon. Thomas E. Delahanty II   Paul P. Murphy
Andrew P. Averill   Joseph L. Ferris   Samuel Nesbitt Jr.
Albert C. Boothby Jr.   George H. Glover Jr.   Pasquale Perrino Jr.
Phillip D. Buckley   Robert A. Laskoff   Howard T. Reben
W. Scott Carlisle III   Mary Susan Leahy   Remington O. Schmidt
Christopher J. W. Coggeshall  John J. Lynch   Chadbourn H. Smith
     Barry Zimmerman

Life Members 

Maine Bar Association 124 State St. Augusta, ME 04330