The Applicable Rules and Regulations for Maine CLE are set forth in Maine Bar Rule 5 - Continuing Legal Education.
MCLE is administered by the Maine Board of Overseers, which is pleased to provide information about the Maine CLE requirements at its website, www.mebaroverseers.org.
For further information, you may contact the CLE Coordinator Susan Adams at 207-623-1121 or by fax at 207-623-4175.
Important Note: Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, we cannot guarantee our CLE calendar. Although we will attempt to adhere to this schedule, all meetings are subject to change.
Q: Does Maine have mandatory CLE?
A: Except as otherwise provided in Maine Bar Rule 5, every attorney registered in Maine must complete 12 credit hours of approved CLE in each calendar year, 7 of which must be live. At least one credit hour in each calendar year must be primarily concerned with issues of ethics and professionalism, and at least one live credit must be primarily concerned with the recognition and avoidance of harassment and discriminatory communication and conduct. The following are exempt from mandatory CLE: Attorneys in inactive status pursuant to Rule 6(c); full-time judges in any state or federal jurisdiction; full-time teachers in any law school approved by the American Bar Association; members of the armed forces of the U.S. on active duty, unless they are practicing law in Maine; residents of another country unless they are practicing law in Maine; and attorneys who have practiced 40 years or more, attained the age of 65 years, and are engaged in less than the full-time practice of law, in the discretion of the Board. Any individual may be exempted from all or part of the requirements of this rule upon a showing of hardship or disability.
Q: When do CLE credits need to be reported?
A: As outlined in 2019 Me. Rules 05 (k)(1), the MSBA will report credits to the Maine Board of Overseers of the Bar no later than 30 days following the program date.
Q: How do I get credit for attending a MSBA Program? Are there forms to fill out?
A: MSBA provides a certificate of attendance to persons who attend its programs. These may be found on each attendee's online profile at www.mainebar.org. The MSBA has no registration or attendance records for programs presented by other CLE providers. The Board of Overseers of the Bar provides members of the bar with a summary report on all credits on file in connection with the filing of the annual registration statement.
Q: Can credits be carried over from year to year?
A: The MCLE Rule states: "An attorney who completed more than 11 credit hours in a calendar year may carry forward up to 11 such additional hours to satisfy the requirement of the following year, provided that the professional responsibility requirement is satisfied for each calendar year.
Q: Can I earn self-study credit from the Maine State Bar Association?
A: Yes. MSBA textbooks, audio and video packages, and our on-line university qualify for self-study credit.
Q: Where can I find a copy of, or more information about, the MCLE Rule?
A: The mandatory CLE rule is available on-line at the Board of Overseers of the Bar's website. For more questions about the MCLE Rule, including those dealing with exemptions from the rule, or specifics about accreditation of programs, contact the Board of Overseers of the Bar at 207-623-1121.