Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join
News & Press: MSBA News

Join the MSBA's Board: Nominating Petition Available

Monday, August 17, 2020  
Share |
There's never been a better time to become involved in your bar association. The MSBA's policy-making body is its 22-member board of elected governors. The following seats will become available in January: Vice President, five Governors by district election, and two governors by general election. 

On January 1, 2021, President-Elect Kelly McDonald becomes President automatically and 2020 Vice President Frank Bishop becomes President-Elect automatically. Districts to be voted on are: Three (Cumberland - two seats); Four (Sagadahoc & Lincoln); Five (Androscoggin); and Seven (Somerset & Piscataquis). At-large positions to be voted on are: In-House Counsel and Public Service Sector. Officers are elected at-large, and governors are elected by resident members in their respective districts, except for Public Service Sector and In-House Counsel Governors, which are elected at-large. Download a Nominating Petition, which includes instructions for making nominations, here. Petitions are due by Oct. 1, 2020.

About the MSBA Board of Governors
The Board has 13 governors representing 11 districts created along county boundaries (including three representing Cumberland County), one governor each representing the New Lawyers Section and the Women's Law Section, one representing public service sector lawyers, and one representing in-house counsel. The board also includes the president, president-elect, vice president, immediate past president, and treasurer. Elected biennially to two-year terms (officers are elected to one-year terms) by the Association's members, the board members meet six times each year to review MSBA activities and chart its short- and long-range future. Learn more about the Board of Governors and see who your current representatives are here.

Maine Bar Association 124 State St. Augusta, ME 04330